5 years of lime green love.

For the past five years April 4th has had a special place in my heart. It is the a day that I like to step back and look at my journey and accomplishments. It’s a day I celebrate PRs, smaller jean sizes, and goals that at one point in my life never seemed possible.

This year, April 4th feels heavy. Literally. For the first time in five years, when I look in the mirror, I see the same girl who walked into that first consultation. It’s hard to think back on the last five years of hard work and not feel sadness. It’s hard to ignore that pile of clothes in my closet that don’t fit anymore, or how my speediest run pace is a solid two minutes slower than what an “easy day” used to feel like. I feel even worse when I look at pictures of this little guy my body created and carried, and instead of focusing on his adorable smile, I can’t stop cringing at my own body.

IMG_2060

But throughout these ups and more recent downs of the last five years, one thing has remained constant. It became apparent to me one day recently as I pulled out my long sleeve, lime green shirt to go for a run. This same shirt has magically fit me when I ran my first half marathon at my lowest weight, when I went for my last pregnant run at 28 weeks, and now as I try to navigateΒ my way to my new role as a mother runner. It doesn’t matter where I am in my journey, it always fits.

IMG_3212

This one (very smelly) green shirt stands for so much more. It is my foundation, it’s what got me to where I am today. It is home to me. The friendships I’ve made, the guidance, the therapy sessions, the ass kickings, they’ve been there for every step over the last five years. And no matter where I am in my journey, they’re always there to support me. They’ve seen me through my first mile I ever ran, white dress workouts, crossing the finish line on Boylston Street, and burpee modifications as my belly grew. It’s pretty incredible when you step back and think about it.

This April 4th mayΒ look a little different, but I keep telling myself it’s just another page in my book. A new chapter in my story. It’s a new starting point. Today is aΒ reminder of where I’ve come from, what I can achieve, and the incredible supports I have behind me.

Here’s to the next five years. πŸ™‚

About Kathleen

When your legs get tired run with your heart.

Posted on April 4, 2017, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. You are amazing & can do anything you set your mind to and your baby is adorable!

Leave a Reply

