Where do we go from here?

Everyone told me to ride that marathon high and I certainly did. I scooted backwards down the stairs with pride, I didn’t take my jacket off for 7 days straight (Don’t worry on the 7th day I washed it -and then immediately put it back on), beaming every time someone asked me if I had run. I loved that the employee at Ben and Jerry’s gave me half off my order after seeing the medal around my neck. “So this is what finishing the Boston Marathon is like” I thought as I sipped my milkshake.

IMG_8317

And then my beautiful bouquets of flowers started to wilt. The temporary “Boston” tattoo on my arm began to wash off. I could walk down the stairs normally. And I was left with this incredible feeling of “What do I do now?”.

I knew that coming down from the Boston Marathon high was going to be hard. I had spent the last 6 months consumed with training for it. Imagining crossing that finish line every single day. My poor friends and family (and whoever is reading this) were breathing a sign of relief that it was finally over. But all I wanted was to go back in time and start again.

IMG_8364

It’s funny how the things we dread the most end up being the ones we appreciate in the end, right? Every Saturday night I had this put in my stomach about the next mornings long run and yet all I wanted to do was pack up my bag and leave it by the front door. I longed forΒ jelly beans, the ache after a long run, the excitement of a goal ahead. There should really be a pop-up on road race websites that says “please enter the date of your last race” (kind of like how you have to put in your birthdate to enter a website about alcohol?) because I was tempted to sign up for anything and everything I could get my hands on. Luckily before I could make any rash decisions I just shut my laptop and headed to the pool.

IMG_7609

I kept getting the question “Do you think you’ll ever run another marathon?” and I didn’t even have to think for a second about the answer. I don’t want to be a “one and done”. And I definitely feel like I deserve another shot at Boston when it isn’t a freezing cold driving rain. Just not right now. I think my husband would divorce me. πŸ˜‰

So what do I do now? I’m still not sure. I mean- where DO you go after Boston?! A part of me regrets climbing the race ladder too quickly. I wonder if I should have stuck to 5Ks and 10Ks longer, if I should have done a couple more half marathons before I decided to move onto 26.2. It’s a little disappointing to know there’s no more big distances to climb (Because don’t worry – I have NO drive to ever do anything higher than 26.2. That’s just sick).

FullSizeRenderOne thing I do know is that as exhausting as it was, finishing Boston didn’t leave me hating running. In fact I think it only made me love it more.Β This week of rest has been pure agony for me because all I wanted was to get back out there. I’ve just got to figure out what I’m heading out there to do.

IMG_8466

About Kathleen

When your legs get tired run with your heart.

Posted on April 29, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. My next race is a Half Ironman. I’m so glad my injury doesn’t affect cycling or swimming. They were neglected during marathon training, so it’s nice to get back.

    Are you interested in:

    1) Going longer (since you are not interested in Ultras, longer tris)
    2) Going faster (pick a shorter race with a fast course and find a plan specific to the distance)
    3) Doing something new, like a trail race, Ragnar-type race. obstacle course (I can’t remember if you’ve done any of those).
    4) Picking a race where the course brings the challenge, like something super hilly at altitude
    5) A race that’s in a place that you’ve always wanted to visit

    Have fun on your next adventure πŸ™‚

    • I’m interested in …. all of the above?! Except longer tri’s at the moment after my grand finale disaster last summer. But I’ve been researching and realizing there’s still a lot to add to my bucket list!

      Good luck with 70.3
      training! When is your race?

      • Glad there’s a lot to keep you excited πŸ™‚

        The 70.3 is August 20. I did my first running since Boston today. Mostly walk/running, and nothing too fast, but it didn’t hurt. I just need to reign myself in and build back slowly.

Leave a Reply

