On My Mind, All the Time.

The high from my 20 miler spilled over into the next day or so. I wore the sore hamstrings like a badge of honor. That is until I realized it was time to run again. And then the cloud I was floating in quickly dissolved. “No thanks, I’m not ready”. 

FullSizeRender 3

Recovery is more fun in themed compression socks.

My legs still hurt, my mind was still tired and the LAST thing I wanted to do was put on my shoes. And unfortunately, that feeling stuck the rest of the week. Before every single run I found myself whining and literally having to push myself out the door. What the hell? Is this normal? What happened to that bad ass girl from Sunday?

Our long run fell on a Saturday this week meaning I had one less day to pull myself together than normal, which couldn’t have come at a more inconvenient time. Add that to a cold, rainy morning and I was one miserable human being. Fifteen miles should have felt like a breeze compared to the week before but like every other run that week I moaned, groaned, and dragged my feet. I was mad at everything: that it was raining, cold, that I was slower than the rest of the group, that I had forgotten to shake the rock out of my shoe from the week before. Mad that the nagging pain I had been feeling in my ankle lately was still there. Mad that I had forgotten my lip balm.

Eventually all I could focus on was the pain in my ankle, and then an all too familiar ache in my hip  – just before I hit Mile 12 I decided to call it quits and get a ride back at the last water stop. Clicking “save” on my Garmin made my decision official, but it sure didn’t make me feel any better about it.

Once I dragged my sorry ass home I climbed in the hot shower, and of course regretted my decision. 5 weeks to go and I’m cutting runs short? Not okay!

FullSizeRender

Cool kids spend their Saturday night in an ice bath.

I’ve spent the last three months training for the marathon. I’ve been preparing my body for it since early fall. And I’ve been talking about it (at least with my coach) since the middle of the summer.  When I wake up I immediately cross off another day and my last thoughts before I fall asleep are usually about crossing the finish line. If you are a friend, family member, or co-worker this is all you hear about – all day long (I’m sorry, I really am!). Right now I live and breathe the Boston Marathon. I can’t help it. Aside from getting married and eventually having children, this is one of the biggest things I’ll ever do in my life. I can’t help but try to absorb every second of it- to the point where I’m getting absorbed by it.

1300992854199_6009023

So I’m trying to take a step back. Take a deep breath. Take care of my aches and pains so I can get to Hopkinton healthy. Find things to do to take my mind off of it. Stop stressing myself out over every little step. It just not so easy to do with just over a month to go. Deep breaths.

IMG_7002

The countdown chain at work means it’s almost go time.

About Kathleen

When your legs get tired run with your heart.

Posted on March 18, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. It’s a tough balance. I’ve cut long runs short this training cycle because I felt like pushing on would have done more harm than good. Glad I finally did my first 20 last weekend and didn’t feel *too* bad afterward.

    A little over a month to go. Eeeeeee!

  2. Is there anyone who can do your long runs with you (at your pace)? For all of my marathons, I have had a training partner – we did all of our long runs together, so that I knew that if I didn’t run I would be letting her down and vice versa. I saw them as the social highlight of the week – a chance for me to chat to a friend for 2 or 3 hours. Is there anyone who could do that with you? (If you haven’t got a running friend, maybe just a friend who could cycle slowly with you?) Good luck!

Leave a Reply

