The things in my back pocket for a snowy day.

In case you are reading this and don’t live in the Boston area (or have been hibernating under a rock) – we’ve gotten a lot of snow over the last two weeks. A lot doesn’t even begin to describe it actually. A SHIT TON OF SNOW.

IMG_6354

I don’t know whether I want to cry or laugh hysterically at the fact that the year I decide I’m going to try and run a marathon Boston gets HISTORIC snowfall amounts. If this isn’t Mother Nature’s hint that I should go back to being a fat kid- I don’t know what is.

But as much as I’d like to throw in the towel, or better yet, curl up in it and take a nap until I can see grass again – that just isn’t an option. Cus’ this thing is really happening – as confirmed every time I open the fridge.

FullSizeRender 3

So I’ve put together this little list of things that are helping to keep me motivated and excited during these dark, cold, snow covered weeks. My back pocket toolkit if you will.

… Searching “Boston Marathon” videos on Youtube. There’s nothing like Go Pro footage of someone breathing heavily as they make their way down Boylston to help me imagine what it’s going to feel like.

… If I wasn’t training for Boston I probably would have missed the gorgeousness of this run. I might despise winter but sometimes it can be beautiful – and a reminder of all you’d be missing if you just stayed in bed.

FullSizeRender 4

… The growing “Do not wear until April 20th” section of my closet. I have the best people in my life.
FullSizeRender 2

… The people I’m running for. Like this amazing woman who I think of every time I curl up with this quilt.

FullSizeRender 5

… My new collection of Mantrabands. I’m obsessed.
IMG_6407

… This music video on repeat.

… Post long run splurges. Truth: they taste even better when shared with a best friend.

FullSizeRender
…And of course the goosebumps I get every time I walk by this.

10151810_10101921654231402_1273145981_n

…And think about one of these around my neck.

usa_marathon_boston-1

COME ON SPRING!

About Kathleen

When your legs get tired run with your heart.

Posted on February 11, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Love the music video. Thanks for sharing! I need some motivation to get out there in the cold 🙂

Leave a Reply

