Goal setting.

This week kicks off the official start of marathon training. So far I’ve run 3 miles and had a rest day, so I can’t say anything has been anything drastically different. There is however an excitement in the air which I’m hoping sticks around as long as possible.

IMG_4940

Kicking of Boston training in my Boston Strong shirt – of course.

Besides marathon training there was another note on the calendar for this week- I was supposed to reach my goal weight.

Say what again?

Yes you heard me. My goal weight.

Obviously things this fall got a little… chaotic. I got married. I took a break from training. I went to Hawaii for two weeks. I got a little careless. Actually to be quite honest I know I started getting careless over the summer, but I was chasing it with exercise which for the most part covered up my imperfections. And that is not a good habit, nor is it a healthy one.

IMG_4956

Hawaiian 5K one day, Hula Pie the next…

It’s only a few pounds, but enough that matter to me. And from what I’ve been told and what I’ve been reading, marathon training is often accompanied by weight gain. I can’t imagine anything wore than achieving this crazy accomplishment and hating my body when I should be celebrating it.

It was shortly before we left for Hawaii that I acknowledged the slide and made a goal to be back at what I consider my “ideal” weight for Boston training. And so I started my 17 hour journey over the Pacific with the intention to be mindful. And I was for a few days. But eventually the Mai Tai’s and shaved ice got the best of me and I stopped worrying about it. I could start fresh when I got home. This would be easy.

IMG_4014

I don’t regret one sugary, delicious bite of this. Or the other 6 oops.

And then it wasn’t easy. Things are different than they were two and a half years ago. I’m an active person. Back then my body was shocked that I was sweating from something other than walking to the train after work. These days my body thinks I can run 3 miles in my sleep. The first time around I was just trying to lose weight, now I’m trying to do it while training my body to run 26.2 miles. It’s both awesome and frustrating at the very same time. And the hardest part of it all? Admitting it. Putting this, and myself, out there is the worst part of it all because it feels like failure. I feel like I’ve learned nothing in the last two and a half years. I feel like I shouldn’t be allowed to stand here and say “Look at me, look at what I’ve overcome!” when clearly there’s still so much work to be done. It’s just one more reminder that this journey never ends, it just changes direction.

 

About Kathleen

When your legs get tired run with your heart.

Posted on December 16, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. This is amazing ❤ "this journey never ends, it just changes direction" Amen to that! No marathon training in my future, but needing to challenge myself this upcoming year takes on new meaning… more consistent pacing, increasing speed, and paying attention to eating with a purpose.
    Good luck on your journey, you'll hit and maintain that goal weight. Be proud of, not upset with, any of the marathon weight you may gain as it is your body's way of preparing to take your badass over the finish line in Boston!

    • Awww thanks girl! I guess we would be bored to tears if we didn’t constantly have new challenges and ways to improve ourselves, right? Let’s push each other to keep on trucking 🙂

  2. It’s interesting to me that I have become an active person. I can’t even IMAGINE going more than a couple of days without exercising. But healthy eating is a different story. I am prone to falling off THAT wagon for weeks at a time. It’s true, I do get back on track. My body eventually starts craving the healthy stuff. But it sometimes takes a while (and a few pounds…)
    I’m excited to follow along with your training! Good luck & take care of yourself 🙂

    • Isn’t it funny how all of a sudden you couldn’t imagine life without it?

      But chocolate… I also cannot imagine life without chocolate.

      Thanks for the encouragement 🙂

  3. Can’t wait to run with you! Oh the joy! The joy!

  4. Yep, it never ends! For all the good and bad that entails. It’s hard to find the balance between enjoying some of life’s pleasures, which includes decadent foods and sleeping in, with being healthy and driven.

    For what it’s worth, I didn’t gain weight when I did my marathons. I think the weight gain usually happens when people use the training as an excuse to overindulge.

    I appreciate your honesty. It’s a reminder to everyone that we never arrive. Happy training!

    • I always tell myself that if I’m not being honest – there’s no point in keeping my blog going. The only reason I started it is because I wanted a way to stay honest and accountable to myself. So I put it all out there 😉

      Thanks for the encouragement – Hope your training is going well!

Leave a Reply

