Little things make up the big things.

Like so many other Americans my Thanksgiving morning began with freezing my ass off at a turkey trot. The same race that I can now say I’ve run three consecutive years. And the same race where two years ago, I ran 3.1 miles without stopping for the first time .Which in my short little running career, is still my proudest moment. Although the Feaster 5 is absurdly crowded and an hour away, it’s now a tradition I simply can’t break.

Last year I decided to run the 5 Mile option with a friend, which to this day stands as my 5 Mile PR. I registered for the 5 Miler again this year with the direction to add on an extra mile to make it my “long run” for the week. (Is it lame that I always feel a little bad ass when I’m out there doing extra miles before the race even begins?). This year I wasn’t going for speed, but simply to enjoy myself and get in a good, solid run (which clearly hasn’t been happening too often lately).

IMG_4577

My husband surprised me and signed up for the 5K last minute. Luckily this year there was no ER trip in the days following 🙂

As usual it was a freezing cold day, and this year had the bonus of being my first run in the snow. The first mile is chaotically crowded, and then the 5 Miler splits off for a bit and there’s finally space to breathe and think. It was a perfect time to look back at what I’ve accomplished since I was here two years ago, about what this race means to me now.

IMG_4576

For the last mile the two distances sync back up and share the road to the finish. I don’t think that last mile will ever get old for me. It gives me goosebumps as I remember the feeling of pushing myself, knowing I wasn’t going to let those legs stop for once until I crossed the finish line. Or the feeling of my lungs bursting and my legs aching, but looking at my watch and knowing I wanted to finish faster than I ever had before. And even though this year didn’t bring any of those exciting firsts with it, it still put an extra pep in my step.

IMG_4574

About to “really” finish my first 5K in 2012.

It’s clear that the lack of “exciting firsts” directly correlates to my lack of enthusiasm lately.  And while Thursday didn’t produce any shiny new PRs or challenges, in reality I ran 6 solid miles in preparation for training for a MARATHON. The BOSTON marathon. On that same road two years ago I could barely run 3 miles and yet, here we are today, about to dig into this crazy new challenge. And that’s something I’m incredibly, incredibly proud of.

IMG_4575

About Kathleen

When your legs get tired run with your heart.

Posted on December 3, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Nice photo collage, nice work last two years. Keep going although the exciting firsts aren’t as present any more.
    There are plenty of challenges out there 🙂

  2. i’m running boston too! i just discovered your blog and it’s motivating me to forge ahead with my own training! 🙂

  3. I’m excited for you about Boston! Okay, and maybe a little jealous, too 🙂

  4. I definitely hear you on the lack of firsts thing. But it’s awesome you got to re-run your first 5k! Congrats on how far you’ve come!

Leave a Reply

