So….. I’M RUNNING A FREAKING MARATHON?!

I’m still giddy over last week’s post.

While this has been in the works for a while it’s finally now starting to feel real- this is really happening.

I’m going to run a marathon.

I’m going to run THE BOSTON MARATHON!

10653541_10102346029624712_7262812047710897521_n

Sometimes I catch myself saying it out loud to absolutely no one, simply because hearing the words come out of my mouth gives me goosebumps.

I am incredibly honored to be running Boston for my organization, Back on My Feet (more on that coming soon!). I know that some people frown upon charity bibs and feel that you don’t deserve to run unless you qualify. But for someone like me who knows they will never be fast enough – this is the opportunity of a lifetime and I am so appreciative of it.

FullSizeRender

I know that over the last few weeks I’ve been talking about taking a break. Obviously this break was two fold: yes I’m tired and a bit burnt out from constantly training, but this is also a break to get my body ready for this crazy adventure I’m about to embark on. I know (or I should say I’ve been told a million times by now) that marathon training is going to be like nothing I’ve experienced before. So the next few months are going to be spent getting myself ready both physically and mentally. More time swimming, strength training, rolling, stretching, yoga-ing. I keep reminding myself that everything I do in the next few months is going to make me stronger for training. Make me stronger as a marathoner (Gah! That word!).

IMG_2462

Of course I’m still running, but minimal miles and just when I feel like it. The kicker? I’ve been Garmin free for TWO WHOLE WEEKS. (“Father please forgive me, it has been two weeks since my last Garmin paced run”). At first I thought I was going to hate it, but I’m kind of liking running according to how my body feels (I still tap my wrist at every intersection sadly).

I like that I’m going for a run because it’s nice out, because I had a bad day, because I know that I will feel better after those thirty minutes. I like that I can chose my route based on what view I want to see, not how far I have to go. I like that I’m running simply because I want to – not because it’s written on my plan somewhere. Without any goals I’m focusing on how my body feels, my kick ass new playlist, the leaves crunching under my feet.  I can’t remember the last time I ran this way, but I like it. I feel stronger.

IMG_2487

I know that marathon training is going to get tough, and it’s going to hurt, and it’s going to make me cry (a lot, if I know myself by now). I’ve heard it enough times that I get i – it’s going to suck. But I also know that I want to appreciate every second of this journey, even the sucky parts. I want to take it all in, I want to do it right. This may be my one opportunity to run Boston and I don’t want to look back with any regrets. I’m thankful that I have this blog to help me capture all of the moments of this journey, because I want to remember it all. And I hope that you’re not already sick of hearing “the M word” and that you’ll buckle up and join me for this crazy, crazy ride… errr run. 🙂

IMG_2623

About Kathleen

When your legs get tired run with your heart.

Posted on October 21, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I’ll stick with you to the end no matter how many times you drop the “M” word 🙂
    I’m throwing around the idea of doing a half marathon next May since I didn’t end up doing one this fall. You might be my motivation to keep going through the winter 😉

  2. I’ve made your blog my home page. Seat belt is on!

  3. By the way athletes who don’t appreciate and respect athletes running for a cause are low IQ, mouth breathers, who have to hold their hands extra high so their knuckles don’t drag along the ground. I’d say worse but I wouldn’t want to offend low IQ mouth breathers who drag their knuckles along the ground. You be proud that you’re carrying the hopes of so many homeless while you train. Come the day of the race that weight will be wings carrying you easily.

Leave a Reply

