A whole new age group.

My birthday is always a bittersweet day because I consider  it the last hurrah of summer. I know that right behind it are cool mornings, earlier sunsets and pumpkin everything. This year my birthday symbolizes even more changes: the last few days as a “single” woman, a brand new age group for races, a whole new decade in my life. That’s right – today I turn 30.

bday3

I know that a lot of people freak out over the jump from your twenties to your thirties but I actually feel ready for it. I look back at who I was when I turned 20 versus who I am today and all that happened in between – and I am astounded. In my twenties I graduated from college, I went through the growing pains of independence and becoming an adult. I got a little too drunk with my friends, I spent a little too much money on cover charges and bar tabs. I bought my own car. I moved through jobs and career ladders, eventually stumbling into an organization I wake up excited to start my day at. I fell in love, and eventually realized it was the person I wanted to spend the rest of my life with. I watched as my friends fell in love, watched as our circle moved from dance floors to kitchen tables in new homes. I discovered fitness, health, happiness, confidence. I became a runner. I ran my first 5K, dozens more road races, my first triathlon, THREE half marathons. Despite the ups and downs of the last ten years I will never look back at my twenties with regret.

Oh to be 22 again.

Oh to be 22 again.

So bring on the thirties. Bring on married life and all the love, happiness, and hard shit that comes with a new last name and a wedding band. Bring on real adulthood – mortgage payments, home improvement, and children (that statement is officially petrifying). Bring on more kitchen table parties, for that means our circle of friends is growing older together. Bring on even crazier fitness goals – the ones that make your eyes glisten because you never imagined that they would ever happen to you. Bring on proving that I can get even faster, even stronger, even more confident as I get older.

Never in my life did I think my bachelorette party would involve a road race.

Never in my life did I think my bachelorette party would involve a road race.

30, I’m ready for you.

About Kathleen

When your legs get tired run with your heart.

Posted on August 27, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. Yes, but are we ready for you in your 30s?

  2. 30’s are awesome! I too had a ton of fun in my 20’s (though I was also in a serious relationship for 7 of the years), but 30s are the grown up years 🙂 I bought a house, started dating my husband, got married, had 2 kids. But I also spent that whole time putting on weight and thinking about other people besides myself, So now that I am in my 40s (okay, almost mid 40s!), I am back to thinking about myself, while taking care of the husband and 2 kids and inching them closer to doing all the non-partying fun things I did in my 20s that I miss – like rock climbing, kayaking, hiking. Baby steps, but they are slowly getting there and it is so much fun!

    Happy 30th, happy wedding. You will be posting a picture, right?!

    • 30’s are where it’s at from what I hear! And congrats to you for getting back to thinking about yourself – my goal is to try and keep myself doing these things as I get old.

      And I will certainly be posting some pictures 🙂

  3. Happy Happy Birthday Kathleen! I’m so glad that I met you and love all of our laughs at bootcamp. I hope today is great. This is such an exciting time in your life and I wish you nothing but the best.

    PS-again you are me tear up whenever I read your blog!

  4. Happy Birthday and welcome to the 30’s!! It’s not a bad decade 🙂

  5. Happy birthday! A road race bachelorette party sounds kind of awesome!

  6. Happy birthday! As a recently married person, I will tell you that not much will change except your last name and new bling. It’s so exciting to know you have so many awesome changes to look forward to! And I’m only 27 but I’m kind of excited to move into a new age group in a few years because these other people in their 20s are too fast for me!

  7. Happy belated birthday! I’m 29 right now and on my bday this year, I tried to think about what I needed to do before I turned 30. Answer: nothing! Like you, I feel like I’ve already done the crazy 20-something stuff and am ready for the fun of being more relaxed, responsible, and mature. And hooray for a new age group 🙂

  8. Awesome post and great retrospective.

    Enjoy your new age group and life!

Leave a Reply

