Ch-ch-ch-ch-changes.

Something’s different.

I can’t quite put my finger on when it happened. Or how it happened. Or even why it happened. But all of a sudden, I’m starting to see some changes.

It all began with my hip. For a decent amount of time I was putting in the bare minimum, doing exercises only when I was reprimanded about them. Essentially I had regressed to the student who does as little homework as possible to get through class. When I started getting sick of this on-again-off-again pain I realized that the rehab activities were there for a reason. So I started spending more time stretching post run. Setting an alarm on my phone to remind myself to do my band walks. Taking the extra 15 minutes at night to go through my routine because believe it or not… this shit actually works! There are still times the pain comes back (I have an ice pack glued to my hip as I type this due to an intense 10 miler this weekend) but I’m starting to get back to higher mileage and more importantly, a happier runner. Lesson learned.

Sunday night routine.

Sunday night routine.

It’s only taken two years and god knows how many near death instances- but I’ve also finally started to get a handle on nutrition when it comes to fueling myself for workouts. I started paying attention to what I’m eating the night before long runs because I know it will affect how I feel mid run. I’m hydrating throughout the day. My days this summer are long and full and I was discovering that by the time I get home I could eat nearly the entire fridge. I started paying attention to what I was eating mid-day, and making sure that I wasn’t heading out on my evening workouts already starving. Sometimes this means eating a PB & Banana sandwich in traffic but if it keeps me from eating both mine and my fiancees dinner at 8:30pm- I’ll gladly take the extra time to pack it.

photo (5)

Fuel on the go!

The combination of all of these things have slowly but surely been showing me that I can become a better runner. But something even more crucial, even more exciting, even more important? There’s something different going on in my head.

As my mileage started increasing a few weeks ago I decided that I needed a change of scenery for my long runs. I remembered being told about a nearby bike path/trail and decided it just might be worth the earlier wake up call.  So I set the alarm a little earlier, packed myself up and headed to the park. The sun was just coming up, the air was still cool, and as I ran I felt this energy I hadn’t felt in a very long time. I was shocked and how much easier the miles passed, how much faster I ran. I returned week after week, only to find the same magic in my miles. I was convinced that the running fairies were sprinkling dust in the path over night. Negative splits during a long run? 10 miles with an average pace 2 seconds faster than my 8 mile run? Reminding myself that I’m stronger than I think I am? That shit doesn’t happen to me…. EVER.

One of the most epic runs of my short little runner life.

One of the most epic runs of my short little runner life.

I don’t know why I’m suddenly doing all of these things. Maybe watching all these other talented runners around me is finally getting to me. Maybe all the lessons I’ve been taught are finally sinking into my thick little skull. Or maybe, just MAYBE – I’m finally starting to see the potential in myself. We’ll see how long this lasts.

 

About Kathleen

When your legs get tired run with your heart.

Posted on August 6, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Yippy skippy! There’s always room for growth. Inspiring 🙂

  2. Yay this is awesome!!! I totally need to take a lesson from you and eat healthier before/after working out. And I need to find a magical running path too! Congrats on doing well with your training lately!

    • It’s a give and take…. but when you notice that much of a difference in your run it’s worth it! of course we won’t talk about what happens post run 😉

  3. Awesome!! I also find running on a trail much easier. I think it is the trees and the fact that I’m running on something softer than concrete just puts me at peace and I feel like I could just keep going.

    • This is a running/bike trail so parts of it are paved, parts of it are rock, parts of it go over a bridge- I love that it’s a constant change of scenery!

Leave a Reply

