Stuck in a moment.

In weight loss there are stages. When you first start out, everything sucks. Mountains seem immovable, goals seem like they’re on a road with no end in sight. But then you get the hang of it. You feel better, your clothes are looser, people start noticing the difference. And then comes the plateau- the scale just doesn’t seem to budge. People stop complimenting you because it’s now your normal. Plateaus are a weird place to be in and you find that you either keep pushing, or you become content with where you are.

I find myself in a plateau again. But this time it’s not in regards my weight. It’s my running. I see the similar pattern. It sucked at first but I stuck with it. Just as I did with my weight loss I began to check off milestones. People congratulated me, told me I was inspirational. I chased goal after goal, thirsty for that insatiable feeling of accomplishment.

Hard to believe this was two years ago...

Hard to believe this was two years ago…

Two summers ago I sweated my ass off, literally. I worked to create a whole new body, a new sense of confidence. Last summer I took that new body and I trained it to do things I never thought I could do.

photo (1)

I wrote a blog post last week about all my summer goals and plans because it’s a lot cleaner and prettier to talk about moving forward. No one wants to read a blog where you whine and complain. But this is a blog about keeping it real. And at the end of the day I’m still recovering from an injury. I’m still working on a “two steps forward one step back” schedule. I can make all the plans in the world, but they mean nothing if I don’t continue to work on rehabbing and rebuilding first.

photo (2)

It’s a hard place for me to be in. I’m not patient. I want instant results. I want that sense of accomplishment back. I want to chase down goals. And no matter how much I try to retrain, my brain constantly goes to that “must catch up to the other kids” place. Add any combination of these to a bad run and it’s a recipe for disaster. I kick and scream like a toddler in timeout and God knows – I totally deserve one.

Once again I’m reminded of where I’ve come from. I’m reminded of where I’ll go. And I’m reminded that this isn’t a quick fix situation. I’ve got to be in it for the long haul. I’ve got to be patient. I’ve got to be diligent with my routines. And I’ve got to remember why I’m here in the first place.

photo (1)

The easy thing to do would be to cut my losses and move on. Find another hobby, one that’s less painful and that my body agrees on. But I love it too much. And I’ve come too far. And I want to get back to that feeling of accomplishment.

photo (4)

One thing’s for sure- I’m never done learning on this journey. Just when I think I have it all down, I’m reminded that I’ve got a long way to go. These moments are teachable… even if I learn the lesson while kicking and screaming. 😉

About Kathleen

When your legs get tired run with your heart.

Posted on July 2, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I am the EXACT same way. I get so impatient when I can’t hit the times I want or I’m not running as fast as other people. I too am dealing with an injury and I’m at the point where I need to stop and let my body rest so I can recover quickly, but I’m just so nervous/scared to lose the training level I’m at right now.

  2. I appreciate your honesty. Yeah, we always want to be getting better and better. We get addicted. But we’ll all have that point someday where our bodies will no longer let us get faster. Or we may need to permanently give up favorite activities. The new challenge lies in finding… a new challenge! Or learning to love being fit and various forms of exercise as an end to themselves. Onward…

  3. Being injured is always so frustrating! Hope you heal quickly 🙂

Leave a Reply

