A full summer ahead.

As I’ve learned over the last year or so, part of what makes me a runner is my thirst for a new goal. No matter how much I declare I hate running in the thick of the miserable, it doesn’t take long before I want to find something new to work towards. So once I had worked out all my angries and lessons learned it was time to plan what to do with my summer. My hip is finally at a place where it doesn’t hurt more than it does, and I’m ready to work on getting back some “speed”. My break plus an injury really derailed any and all progress I had made from my fat days. It makes me want to cry when I think about my 26:41 5K PR (which I understand isn’t breathtaking but to me that was FAST guys!) and how now I’m applauding a pace that’s anything under a 10 minute mile. I keep telling myself that I’ll get back there- it’s just going to take some time and some hard work.

Getting there.

Take that- 10 minute miles!

It’s crazy to think that a year ago I was deeply consumed in triathlon training (and nightmares when I woke up in the middle of the night in a panic). Unfortunately I can’t do Iron Girl this year, but I’m almost okay with it because I know that it would never compare to what I experienced last year. I’m happy with those memories for now. And while I’m not spending a large amount of my summer swimming, biking, and running I have the sprint I did last Labor Day Weekend to look forward too – hopefully faster & better this time around.

Still, still, still... the best day ever.

Still, still, still… the best day ever.

On the topic of triathlons there’s a new twist to my summer… a Half Ironman!

KIDDING.

photo

What does 1/3 of a Half Ironman equal?

Well, kinda. I’m doing the run portion of a relay team… in other words, another half marathon! I’m excited because I really want to try the whole thing next summer (did I really just type that so nonchalantly? WHO AM I?) so it’s a good way for me to see what it’s like. I’m nervous at the same time. This is the first big race I have to do on my own and also without my cheerleader fiancee waiting for me every few miles. It’s going to be me and only me pushing myself for 13.1 miles. I want this to be the race where I defeat my fears and doubts and crazies. I want to prove that I CAN do it. If nothing else I’m banking on the fact that a DNF would let the rest of my team down- so hopefully that will keep me going.

If you weren’t getting tired from following my calendar … let me throw another half marathon in there.This one isn’t until October, but I’m using it as a redemption race for Chilly and Heartbreak – and I want to PR the pants off that baby.

And there you have it. A triathlon, 2 half marathons, a few other road races thrown in… oh and remember that I’m getting married in 2.5 months? Let’s just say I like to stay busy!

About Kathleen

When your legs get tired run with your heart.

Posted on June 24, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Oh my goodness… the year I got married, I did one race early on and that was it. I couldn’t imagine doing more!! Sounds like you have a great season lined up. I too want to do another half marathon in the fall – my brother-in-law found one for $15 in October so the price is very right!! Which Iron Girl did you do last year? I’ll be doing Niagara (Grimsby, Ontario) in August. Everyone I talk to says it is a fantastic even. Looking forward to your future posts and race recaps. You’ll do great 🙂

  2. You’re getting married!?

  3. WHidh 1/2 are you doing in October? I am biting the bullet and doing Smuttynose. Still a little wary about it all – I haven’t run further than 7.5 miles at once.

    • No I’m doing the Harwich Half down the Cape- same day though! It is a challenge for sure but quite the accomplishment. You’ve got plenty of time to train!

  4. I didn’t know you were getting married soon. Congratulations!!
    I’ve been thinking a LOT about triathlons lately. Working on a blog post about that 🙂
    You are going to be so busy. Glad you’re getting your enthusiasm back!

  5. How did I miss the fact that your are engaged!! CONGRATS!! Sounds like you are super busy during wedding planning – but that isn’t necessarily a bad thing 😉 Hope your summer training is going well!!

Leave a Reply

