That bastard called perspective.

Since my hip wasn’t feeling that great post Heartbreak I was put into what we like to call “protective custody” for a full week. The good thing about not running for a week is that it gives you a lot of time to think. The bad thing is well, it gives you a lot of time to think (And also you can’t run and that sucks).

I let myself wallow in my self pity for a few days, which included a very childlike ”TERRIBLE!” answer to anyone who asked how the race was. And as what seems to always happen when I most need it- I was reminded by several people how proud I should be of my accomplishment,  how proud THEY were of me. As much as I wanted to hide in my embarrassment and disappointment the reality of the situation was that I had just finished my second half marathon in less than a year. To make it even more symbolic that same weekend, exactly one year prior, I had crossed the finish line of my first 10K. Half the distance I ran a year later. Even the most stubborn girl in the world can’t argue that that’s pretty incredible.

photo (8)

Exactly one year (and 6.2 miles) apart.

I think I need reality checks like this from time to time. I need a little perspective. I need to a slap across the forehead to remind me how far I come. I just finished my second half marathon. A year ago I was pumped that I had run my first 10K. In just over two years I’ve gone from a certified lazy ass to an athlete. In the grand scheme of things, that is no easy task. Consequently, neither is a half marathon. And yet here I sit looking at the medals from two that I have completed. Damn you perspective, sometimes you suck.

photo (7)

Same shirts, same girls… different accomplishment.

At the end of the week I shook off the last of my angry feelings. Wrote down my lessons learned and tucked them into my log book. And then I turned the page. Time to move on. Time for a new page. New week. New goal to write down. Time for something new to strive for and be proud of myself for.

photo (9)

Who would have ever thought there was an athlete inside that girl?

 

About Kathleen

When your legs get tired run with your heart.

Posted on June 18, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I’m glad you’re moving on. No need to dwell 🙂 That last picture speaks volumes about how far you’ve come! You should definitely be proud.

  2. Jenereesa @ ScootaDoot

    Great post! Sometimes it’s easy to forget exactly how much we’ve accomplished. Onward and upward (or at least foward… upward might be bad – HILLS!).

  3. Great post to start off my morning! You are incredible. 🙂

  4. I’m kind of where you are right now. I’m dealing with injuries and getting slower. It’s hard to not get discouraged. I’m trying to focus on what I am able to do at the moment.

Leave a Reply

