Being Thankful.

You’d have to be living under a rock to not notice the daily “Today I am thankful for” posts going around on the internet. And while I didn’t make it a point to join in on the daily acknowledgments, it does seem appropriate on the day before Thanksgiving to list some of the things that I am eternally grateful for. I hope this post doesn’t come off in a “Look how perfect my life is” way because it’s not- I promise you. I have just as many bad days and shitty moments as the next person… but I also have had a lot of wonderful things in my life that deserve recognition.

I am thankful for my family- both the one that I was born into and the one that I am marrying into. I feel incredibly lucky to be surrounded by such a strong and loving group of individuals. They are at my side for every crazy new direction I take and with that are there to either celebrate alongside me or pick me back up when I fall.

I am so thankful for this guy.

image

Almost every picture of me running on this blog was taken by him standing patiently at a finish line. Frigid temperatures, blazing sun… he is always there to cheer me on and to tell me how proud he is of me. He doesn’t get the madness behind why I run, but he gets that it makes me so happy. Tomorrow he will run his first 5K not because he loves running, but because he loves me.

I am thankful for my friends, who know all of my imperfections and yet choose to love me anyways. For the ones who I don’t have to clean my house for, the ones I can call for anything, the ones who I giggle with over things no one else would ever find funny. For old friends who have known me through the good times and the bad, and new ones who have jumped in alongside me in my journey almost seamlessly.

I’m thankful for finding a place that gave me the push and the support to make changes in myself that I was to afraid to make on my own. For walls that have seen sweat, tears, and pounds disappear, only to be replaced by confidence, strength and happiness. A place that will forever be my favorite place to be.

photo (1)

I’m thankful for my job, for finding a career that combines two things that I am so passionate about. My work is hard, but I go to bed at night exhausted in the best way possible, and wake up the next morning anxious to dive right back in.

I’m thankful for kale, chocolate chip cookie dough and everything in between. For ice cream with sprinkles before races. For balance. For a life where food isn’t an enemy. Oh and pancakes! I am so, so thankful for pancakes.

photo (1)

I’m thankful for my “You’ve got this” and “I knew you could do it”. But I’m even more thankful for “I know you can do better than this”. That’s what motivates me to keep trying, keep pushing myself, to never settle. It keeps me going because I never want to stop making you proud.

I’m thankful for bags to Goodwill, for they symbolize a part of my life that has gone out the door, hopefully to never return again.

photo

I’m thankful for race bibs and spandex running tights. For foam rollers and PRs. For a never ending supply of safety pins. I’m thankful for swim dates and bagel picnics after group runs. I will never stop being thankful for getting to be a part of this crazy, awesome world. For being accepted right into it, no questions asked. For the people who are ready and willing to teach me. For finally finding my place.

I’m thankful for this blog and for rediscovering my love for writing. For a space that I can use to hold myself accountable, share my feelings, and not feel like I’m being judged. For people who have followed my journey, cheered me on, become part of my story.

I’m thankful for lungs that burn and for muscles that ache the morning after a hard workout. I’m thankful for the way my heart swells with pride after crossing a finish line. And most importantly, I’m thankful for strong legs to run with. I haven’t gone for a run since April 15th and not thought about how lucky I am to have legs to run with. And I promise to never stop being thankful for that- no matter what season it is.

photo

About Kathleen

When your legs get tired run with your heart.

Posted on November 22, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Great list! And I like the new header. Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours.

Leave a Reply

