From triathlons to… half marathons?

After a crazy whirlwind summer of triathlons, almost weekly road races, and actually finishing the infamous “longest-distance-I’ve-ever-run” Falmouth I was starting to feel a burn out coming on. I figured it was in my best interest to slow down for the fall. Maybe work on my 5K speed, run a few fun races with my buddies… nothing like the last few months of training I just finished. As anyone who knows me well enough can guess, it only took about a week before that idea went completely out the window. Like I’ve said before, I don’t do “take it easy” very well.

photo (2)

Can you believe it? This former fat ass, half ass bad ass IS GOING TO RUN A HALF MARATHON! (fingers crossed). You may be saying to yourself “So let me get this straight- I just got done listening to you bitch and complain about how tired you were from training all summer and now you’re going to start training for a half marathon? I give up”. If you are having these thoughts while reading this- I hear you. And I won’t be offended if you stop reading πŸ˜‰

When I sit back and think about everything I’ve accomplished so far, it’s because I had goals set for me. I need numbers, I need time lines, I need ways to see that I am making progress. Goals are what keep me going. They keep me in check. I fear that having time without any specific goals would lead to backsliding and let’s face it – I’ve come too far for that. A very wise man I know likes to remind me of the importance of having objectives and achieving them. Well my friends, meet my new objective.

photo (4)

It’s kind of ridiculous considering that less than a month ago I wasn’t sure I could ever handle 13.1 miles. Falmouth was so hard for me that after I finished I was convinced that I’m just not cut out for long distance running. But even then- there was something still so elusive about a half. So challenging, yet so rewarding. So bad ass. So cool to say. Finishing a half marathon? That’s like, what a real runner does. And we all know how desperately I want to feel like one.

The big day is just two months away- which is kind of nerve wracking when I think about how soon that is. I started my official “half marathon training” on my birthday. Clearly what better way is there to kick off the first day of being 29 than with the first day of a new goal?

photo (1)

Happy birthday… now get running!

So far my long runs haven’t been any further than what I’m used to, but they’re getting dangerously close to exceeding anything I’ve done before. I’m trying to make myself take it mile by mile instead of overwhelming myself with the looming fear of “how will I keep running for THIRTEEN… FREAKING… MILES?

So while my schedule for the summer was a mix of biking, swimming and running, my fall will pretty much be well, a whole lot of running. Objective: 13.1 miles. It’s going to be hard, it’s going to be a lot of work, and probably painful. It’s going to be the biggest mental game I’ve encountered yet. And to all of that I say… challenge accepted.

1209104_293910237416988_413667498_n

About Kathleen

When your legs get tired run with your heart.

Posted on September 11, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 23 Comments.

  1. What’s there to say? You’ve said and answered all the things on my mind – but, in the end “You go girl!” is what’s left for me to say. I’ll stay with you on “paper”, and also wish you a belated Happy 29th birthday! xoxo

  2. Ha! You sound like me.
    We’re perfectly entitled to change our minds, though. Right?
    You’re much quicker to act than I am, though. Way to just go ahead and jump right in! I’m impressed.
    Let the bitching and complaining about training begin.
    In the end, I’m pretty sure you’ll be happy with your decision πŸ™‚

    • I can’t say I took the plunge solely on my own- I’m lucky to have some pretty awesome supports in life… who happen to be the people who push me to do these crazy things πŸ˜› And I figure that as long as I disclaim and admit to my bitching and complaining- it’s okay to do, right?!?

  3. Good luck for your first half. I really like that distance. It’s long enough to be a real challenge, but doesn’t require the same amount of training and time as a full. I hope you have a wonderful time at your half.

  4. Brilliant, keep on challenging yourself and have loads of fun with your half marathon πŸ™‚

  5. I’ve always wanted to be a runner, so I downloaded the “Couch to 5K” app and it really has helped. They also have “Couch to Half Marathon” and “Couch to Full Marathon” apps. They really help you build up your endurance and learn how to pace yourself. Good luck!

    • Thanks Jo! I used the Couch to 5K app to get into running… took me a little longer than the expected time to run a full 3 miles, but it was a great way to get started. I am incredibly lucky that my training studio also provides run coaching, so I have a really great training plan for my half πŸ™‚

  6. It’s always exciting (and a little scary) to tackle something new. The feeling you get when you;re done is priceless, though. Of course, I think you already know that πŸ™‚

  7. I absolutely love that last quote it’s awesome and so true of so many of us bloggers!

    Well done you signing up for the half you’ll do amazingly of course – if you can do a tri you can do a half! You’ll have the biggest smile when you get through with it and want to sign up for a marathon – so I hear! I’ve not tried it yet I have to admit my furthest run is 10k!

    Hope you enjoy the training and looking forward to following your journey to half marathon”

    x

    • I love that quote too. I used to never want to attempt things because they were “scary” but I’m quickly learning that the scarier the risk is, the more rewarding the end result is. Cheers to half training! (PS you should totally sign up for one too πŸ˜‰ )

  8. Yay good luck! I’m running my first half marathon in February (Disney Princess) and I’m scared to death already! But I agree, I don’t feel like I’ll be a “real runner” until I can say that I ran a half. I support this decision!

  9. I knew this was coming – I really did! And I can’t wait to hear all about it. So excited for you! Amazing – you are! although I know I’ve already said that a bunch of times, I really do mean it! Way to go!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  10. I love the 13.1 distance….it’s a blast and you will enjoy it too!
    Best of luck with all of your training! I signed up for my first marathon when i turned 30. It was a great way to celebrate my Bday!

Leave a Reply

