Tri, tri again!

I’ve been trying to figure out how to describe what finishing your second triathlon is like and although I am not a parent, to me it seems like what it must feel like having a second child. (My apologies if I’m completely off, I only babysit and have a bunch of nieces and nephews). Regardless; the second time around for either of these things you think you’re a little more prepared. The fear of the unknown is less daunting. You find there’s less preparation to do and for the most part, you have the gear and supplies necessary. So what happens when all that logic goes right out the window?

It probably doesn’t help that the triathlon landed in the middle of a long weekend spent at a beautiful lake house in New Hampshire. When the most important part of your day is a boat ride across the lake for ice cream, swimming, biking and running kind of get pushed to the back of the brain (Ice cream will always take precedent for this Bad Ass).

1233551_10101520111815622_1727269082_n

What triathlon?

In fact, I pretty much had forgotten I was doing a triathlon until packet pickup the afternoon before. After grabbing our bibs & timing chips (and some awesome matching neon running hats!) we did a drive through of the bike course and HOLY HILLS. I had been warned that it was a hilly ride, and I had made it through Iron Girl …but this looked terrifying. I told myself “Been there. Done this. You’ll be fine”. And before the fear could take over, I turned my attention back to having fun.

photo (1)

I don’t like hills to begin with- let alone the beast hills of New Hampshire!

The nerves didn’t really kick in until about 4:30 am when I found myself lying in the dark with my eyes wide open, trying to will myself back to sleep before the alarm went off. We packed up our gear and headed to the lake and I reminded myself over and over again “You’ve already done this, you know what to expect.” Unfortunately telling myself that did nothing for the English Muffin with peanut butter that was sitting on my lap, getting colder and colder.

1187087_10101517958770342_1077948757_n

We set up our transition area, I had my hair braided (now an official routine), and we made our way down the rocky path to the water for the start. And then the bomb dropped- they announced that the waves would be in increments of 25. Which would have been fine except for the fact that my trusty sidekick was #50… and I was #51. You’ve never felt a longer minute than the one I spent standing waist deep in water with complete strangers. Once I was in it took no more than 6 strokes before I was coughing up lake water. It was choppier than it had been my first time around, and the addition of men (obviously Iron Girl was just ladies) made it even worse. In a moment of panic I almost started to look for a rescue kayak, but was able to get it together and keep swimming. It wasn’t my best performance but I finally made it out of the water and booked it up to transition.

Unfortunately my less than stellar swim had used up a lot of energy (My swim instructor would be so disappointed in me!),  so I was already tired heading out on the bike. And the hills were just as relentless as they had looked from the car. I felt like I could never catch my breath- even on a downhill I knew that meant there was another climb ahead. It was the little things that got me through that terrible bike ride: seeing my buddy patiently waiting for me on the side of the road, our cheering squad with big smiles and words of encouragement… even the bikers who yelled “Nice Work- you got this!” as they passed me. When I finally saw the dismount sign ahead I breathed a sign of relief, even though I had no idea where I would now find the energy to run.

DSC_0365_zps442fbddb-3

And as I expected, it was incredibly hard for me to find that willpower. I was tired, so very tired, more tired than I had been at the END of Iron Girl (how is that even possible?). The run was just 2.7 miles, but in that moment it felt like a full marathon. I was exhausted and just ready for the whole thing to be over. It took some encouragement, a few jokes, and even a few guilty looks thrown my way when I wanted to quit- but I pushed myself across the finish line and became a triathlete for the second time this summer.

P1040171

While my finish didn’t leave me feeling as speechless and emotional as Iron Girl did, I’m okay with that. I wouldn’t want anything to take away from how special that day was for me. It doesn’t mean however, that I am any less proud this time around. Before this year I barely ran, let alone swam or rode a bike. In just a short amount of time I learned how to do all three together, and then did it not once- but twice in one summer. As incredible as road races are- triathlons are just a whole other world. No matter how I felt during each individual event, there’s something in knowing that you just completed three sports back to back that makes you feel so incredibly bad ass. That’s why as much as I claimed during Mile 6 of the bike that this would be my last triathlon- after a shower and some food I was ready to start planning for next summer. We triathletes are a strange breed, aren’t we? 🙂

1000330_10101520522377852_1272311799_n

That’s a wrap for this badass this summer!

About Kathleen

When your legs get tired run with your heart.

Posted on September 4, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 25 Comments.

  1. Congratulations on your second tri! The course looks beautiful.

  2. Great job on your second Tri this is awesome!

  3. Congrats on the second tri! I’m about to do my first and nervous about the hilly bike course.

  4. fab work your second tri is done and dusted – when’s the next one?! 😉

    I am going for my first one next year terrified is not even the word

    x

    • I live in New England so this was my last for the year (I don’t like chilly water!) but I am planning on at least the same two next summer… maybe more 🙂 You’ll love it!

  5. That’s the thing about having tough races: you always finish thinking about the next one and how you can improve. Which lets you know how important it has become to you.

  6. Congrats on your second tri!! I echo your thougts: us triathletes are a different breed.

  7. Good work, as usual! I feel like a broken record saying that haha :-p

  8. Congrats! I’m so tempted to sign up for a tri, but I’m still semi-new to running and I don’t think I can handle much else. Maybe after my half marathon in February I’ll feel braver? Also, I love the fact that ice cream took precedence over training, you sound just like me!

    • Semi new to running and doing a half? That’s pretty awesome! If you can conquer 13.1 miles you can totally handle swimming, biking & running. And yes- ice cream will always trump anything else- I am a former fat kid after all 😉

      • Haha well I guess I should say that I started running last summer, but I’ve been taking it slow and the longest race I ever did was a 10k. I’m super nervous about it so we’ll see how it goes!

        I also wanted to let you know that I nominated you for a Liebster Award on my blog! I wanted to send more readers your way since you’re so bad ass!

      • Oh thanks! That sounds fun & fancy 🙂

  9. Congrats on #2! Looking forward to hearing about #3 🙂

  10. Congrats! Way to push through! My second tri is tomorrow…

Leave a Reply

