The healthiest year of my life

So I turned 29 yesterday. I looked in the mirror a few times and thought “Holy shit! The last of my twenties!”…Β as anyone approaching 30 does. But for the most part, I spent the day looking back on how much I kicked 28 in the ass. And then some.

936435_10151722429454462_971010051_n

Who are we kidding- I will ALWAYS want a birthday cake made of chocolate πŸ™‚

I’m sure it doesn’t surprise anyone at this point that I started my birthday weekend with the End of Summer Classic 5 Miler because really, what better way to celebrate the year I’ve had than getting sweaty with the friends who got me sucked into this crazy world?

It may surprise you to learn however that up until a few hours before the race I was pretty sure I was going to skip it. As I’ve somewhat mentioned in my last few posts, especially since runningΒ Falmouth, I’ve been feeling blah and unmotivated. I even slept in the other morning instead of getting up for my run, which I know is a bad sign for me. Running, bootcamp, all of the things I love have just felt like going through the motions lately. I’ve been feeling disappointed with myself and I figured this race might be the straw that broke the camel’s back.

As reluctant as I was about running that night- I am so thankful that I did. We couldn’t have asked for a better summer night in a beautiful place to run. And for the first time in a very long time, once I started running I found my zone. As far as I was concerned there was no one else there -just me, my playlist and my fancy new GPS watching (thank you, best fiancee ever). There was no one there coaching me, encouraging me, or pushing me except myself and shockingly- I was more okay with it than I thought I would be.

1231152_570448869657017_1671397398_n

I paced myself along for the first three miles and then started to pick it up for the last two. With every person I passed I felt a rush of energy the feeling of “I want this.” And it rocked. I crossed the finish line a minute and half faster than my first 5 miler and immediately felt a sense of accomplishment. It may not have been the fastest time in the world, but it meant that much to me. I needed to have that reassurance that yes, I can do this… Β I have been doing this. And I’m going to keep doing this. I think somewhere in the craziness of the summer I got caught up in times and details and feeling like I need to be on par with everyone else. When in reality, I should be celebrating how much of a bad ass I’ve become in such a short amount of time.

photo 1

After the race we all headed out to celebrate a great race and a fantastic summer of running with margaritas and a Mexican feast. As I looked around the table at this amazing new group of friends I grinned. A year ago I never would have imagined this was how I’d want to celebrate my birthday and yet here I was: smelly, crumpled race bib, my skin as salty as the rim of my margarita glass. And in that moment- I couldn’t imagine anywhere else I’d rather be.

photo (12)

Nothing about this past year was expected- but I guess that’s what made it so great in the end. Every day was a new adventure, some days thrilling and some days petrifying. At 28 I accomplished a milestone of losing over 60 pounds. At 28 I ran 17 races (And previously stated “I will never be a runner”). At 28 I found my healthy balance. I found what makes me strong. I learned what keeps me going every day.

And with that, I say goodbye to 28. I’m so thankful for all you taught me. As for you 29, I’m embracing you with open arms. I can’t even begin to imagine what you have in store for me.

1146729_10101505156087022_248377320_n

About Kathleen

When your legs get tired run with your heart.

Posted on August 28, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 18 Comments.

  1. Loved your post. Happy belated!

  2. Happy belated birthday, and congrats on all of the things you accomplished!

  3. Sounds like you had an awesome birthday and an amazingly Bad Ass year! Hope the chocolate cake was good. It’s all about the frosting, for me πŸ™‚

  4. Happy belated birthday Kathleen. You are a true rock star.

  5. You’ve done so much in a year! Happy Birthday, and enjoy your next healthy year πŸ™‚

  6. Happy Birthday, Kathleen! Best wishes for many more happy and healthy years to come full of fun challenges and amazing accomplishments! Way to go on your run! So proud of you for getting out there and doing it.

  7. I just started following your blog, mostly because this post is so awesome! I’m all about doing as much fun/badass stuff as I can because I want to look back on life and be proud of what I’ve done. It’s so cool that you’re able to do that! Happy birthday, and congrats on everything you did last year!

    • That’s how I look at it too. I feel like I jumped into this world kind of late so I’m trying to make up for lost time! Cheers to being a badass… and having fun with it!

  8. Well, well, your last blog (?) was the best! I love the phrase that your “skin is a salty as the rim of my Margarita glass” – very clever. Even better that you still enjoy margaritas and don’t have to always think of calories. You are truly a rock star and an inspiration. I need a “kick start”. πŸ™‚
    Love you, and hope you enjoyed the rest of your birthday – with chocolate cake!!!!! xo

  9. Sorry I am late: HAPPY BIRTHDAY!

Leave a Reply

