From fears… to new goals.

4330b9478bca05274bbe385badb5deb6After finishing the Diva Dash (my first race) last September I had numerous people tell me  “Just wait- you’ll want to run longer races” And I consistently said “Oh no, I’m happy with just 5Ks. I couldn’t imagine running anything more.”

Well friends I hate to admit it – but you were right. I’m itching for more.

On sort of a “last minute decision” I decided to train for a 10K that’s happening in 5 weeks. While I had already been planning on doing some longer races over the summer, this one came up and I thought “You know what, why not?” After last week’s rant– I know myself well enough that sometimes it’s good for me to focus my energy on something else rather than getting more and more frustrated with what I’m doing. And after 8 5Ks, a part of me is dying to know “Can I run more than 3.1 miles? …I mean, just how far CAN I run if I try?” At this time last year I had just started “running”- and a year later I’m stuck in my safe little bubble of 3.1. It’s time to break out of the comfort zone.

photo

This summer is shaping up to be pretty busy. And SWEATY.

So I’m going to find out just how far I can run. Looking at my calendar now I realize that I MAY have set some pretty high goals for myself this summer (in an 8 week period I have 5 races scheduled including a 10K, 5 miler AND of course… T-DAY) but I’m at this place in my life where I feel if not now- when? I know I arrived semi late to the fitness/running party and am trying to catch up- and therefore I just want to try (tri?) everything.  I love this world. I so badly want to be a part of this world. I want to be taken seriously in this world. I love the endorphins. I love the gear. I love the training. The vocab I’m slowly integrating into my life. The “race morning” feeling. The abundance of safety pins. The people who wake up early for the same reasons I do now. The  friendships I have found. I love, I love, I love.

And because I love- I will spend this summer running.

71d75addd81abaffc091dcbd69c58ff5

About Kathleen

When your legs get tired run with your heart.

Posted on May 8, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. You are such an inspiration! I love reading your blog!!

  2. Keep it up Kriles!!! I’ve said it a hundred times by now, but you are such a huge inspiration! xoxo

  3. Ha! The safety pins!!! I feel bad just throwing them out after a race, and so I have a massive collection clipped onto the bag I always carry on race day…like, more than a team of runners could ever possibly need!

    And by the way, you ARE part of that world already! If 5 races in 8 weeks doesn’t confirm that, I’m not sure what does.

    • Ohh, I like the idea of pins clipped on the bag… I may need to copy you!

      And sometimes I still feel like I’m in the “try out” stage – maybe after I run the 10K I’ll finally feel legit!

  4. Yes, you are part of this world. Congratulations for taking on a new distance challenge 🙂

Leave a Reply

