Getting back to normal…. in more ways than one.

photo (4)

A group run in honor of the Marathon bombing was just what I needed to remind me that I am not alone – and how much I love the running community.

This past week I have been all over the place, to say the least. The tragedy that happened at the Marathon left me feeling pretty uneasy and emotional (And if you don’t know me personally, I’m already a pretty emotional human being to begin with) and so I spent a lot of the week working through what I was feeling. I guess part of me originally thought that life would just continue on as as normal- but my week was anything but.

photo

Needless to say- the last thing on my mind was training, weight loss, or my usual routine.  So I did what felt right at the moment.

I ran simply to run- without any goals in mind. I swam- but spent most of the time slowly doggie paddling and going over the events of Monday with a friend who was also there that day. Some days I had no appetite and skipped meals, and some days all I wanted was comfort food. (For all you MFP friends- Panera Bread’s Mac & Cheese? 980 calories of absolute comfort. I don’t even regret it happening.) I shopped (because yes, material things make me feel better), and purchased an ADIDAS Boston Tribute Tee and a “United We Run” Sweaty Band (Which by the way, 100% of the proceeds from these items go to the OneFund so feel free to partake in a little “retail therapy” yourself!). I also finally gave in and purchased a RoadID. After being harassed about it for several months I finally realized that as safe as I think I am- there are events that are out of my control and I don’t want to end up as one of those “if only” situations. So mom and fiancee- you’re officially responsible for me 🙂

photo (3)

My new RoadID… because it’s better to be safe than sorry.

Waiting for me at the end of this roller coaster week was the wedding of one of my best friends- an event that I had already been looking forward to, but even more so now. Getting away with some of the most important people in my life to celebrate such a joyous occasion was exactly what I needed. For two days I didn’t think about working out, worry about what I was eating, or think about what I had experienced earlier in the week. I simply enjoyed the time with my friends, being in a beautiful coastal city, and dancing my heart out. Want to know what made the weekend even better? For the first time (for as long as I can remember)  I felt completely confident and happy with how I looked. The smile on the outside was a pure reflection of how I was feeling on the inside. For so long so much time and energy has gone into worrying about people noticing how much weight I had gained, wondering how big my ass looks, or being miserable in a pair of Spanx to hold everything in. And finally this weekend it all finally rang true… those past worries had completely vanished. The effects of all the hard work that I have put in day after day for the past year of my life are suddenly very real. And it feels great. Fantastic. Out of the world. Liberating. Goodbye self-consciousness, hello confidence! 🙂

I came back from our trip feeling refreshed and ready to get back into the swing of things. I spent an hour at the grocery store restocking our fridge so that I could get back to my normal foods, threw in an extra run, and I worked really hard at the pool. I’m back in action- and ready to give it my everything again. Because in case you haven’t heard, I’ve got a triathlon to conquer….in just THREE MONTHS!

photo

There may have been some drunk flexing at the wedding this weekend. I don’t regret it one bit.

 

About Kathleen

When your legs get tired run with your heart.

Posted on April 24, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Is the T for “toned”? “tan”? “totally sexy”? Please share! 🙂

  2. A nice way to end a hellish week – you look absolutely beautiful! Your hard work certainly shows and inspires all of us! Thank you for your honesty. It means more than you know!

  3. Kathleen: Awesome job and blog! Saw this shared on fb and want to follow your success. Can I give some “tri” advice? Make sure you go to a tri and witness the transitions, or get good tips on how to transition from one activity to the next. You WILL do it!

    • Thanks for the follow AND the advice! Luckily I am doing the tri with two friends who are experienced in this (there’s NO WAY I would have signed up on my own) so I’m pretty sure they will prepare me well…And I will probably practice in the safety of my own home several times 🙂

Leave a Reply

