Chapter 2: “A is for Athlete”

I’m happy to say that I am still riding out the high of my One Year Anniversary from last week. While I didn’t go rent a hall and throw a big bash (The thought crossed my mind- I won’t lie) I did spend a lot of time thinking about all that happened in the last year. Β I constantly compared myself now to how I felt a year ago starting out. The conclusion? I feel happier, healthier, more confident… I feel like a totally different person. I AM a totally different person.

photo (4)

Nothing says “Happy Monday” like a nice little run around Castle Island πŸ™‚

“Anniversary Week” began with a nice little Monday holiday and I found myself with a day off and beautiful spring weather. Apparently, spring fever got the best of me because I ended up spending the day with a double session of bootcamp, a swim AND a run. Looking back, maybe not my smartest decision (My little arms were pretty damn tired by the time I got in the pool), but it felt great to go to bed that night and say “YUP, I did all that.Β Take that- half ass πŸ˜›

photo (5)

How lucky am I to have this waiting for me when I get up on Thursdays?

Waking up the morning of my official anniversary was like waking up on Christmas morning. I jumped out of bed, threw on my running clothes, and pretty much skipped down to the beach for my interval run. There’s no way this won’t sound incredibly corny- but as I watched the sun rise over the water I couldn’t think of a better way to start such an important day to me. I felt alive, I felt inspired, I felt unstoppable. I wish I could bottle up the feeling I had that moment and save it for the days when I don’t want to get out of bed, or groan at the thought of another pushup. If someone could figure out a way to synthetically create that feeling and pump it through the vents of a gym- no one would ever leave. The world would be perfectly fit and everyone Β would wake up foaming at the mouth to get in a 12 mile run.

photo (7)

Yup, haven’t missed those 60 pounds. Not. at. ALL.

And if you haven’t gotten enough cliche sappiness for one post- the celebration of my anniversary continued at bootcamp. Where I once sat wide eyed and anxiously nodding my head to every question, I now spent among friends- laughing, sweating, belonging. I walked into that building a year ago feeling insecure and anxious and this night? There was no where else I’d rather be. The crowning moment of my day was when I put the weight “back on” to do some squats. I don’t think I ever really knew how weighed down I had been until I put it back on my body. It was a pretty surreal moment. It made me appreciate running, jumping, walking…just BREATHING more than I ever have before. I don’t ever want that weight back on my body… unless it’s in the form of a vest of course πŸ˜‰

Year Two already feels so different. I spent a whole year of my life trying to dig out the body underneath all that extra weight, and in turn- trying to find the person inside. And now I just want to use it and celebrate it in any way possible. While there’s still about 5 pounds I’d like to lose, they’re not all I think about anymore. I want to focus on running further and faster. I want more muscle, I want more strength. I want to conquer this triathlon. This past year I felt like I was always “borrowing” everyone else’s hobbies and now- I want to make them mine. I want to feel like an athlete. It’s time to take this girl from a half ass, to a bad ass!

485074_438014906276525_1149124032_n

About Kathleen

When your legs get tired run with your heart.

Posted on April 10, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Congrats on the anniversary! Your enthusiasm is definitely contagious – I found myself suffering through boot camp yesterday and then made myself go for a run after. I felt like you! Keep motivating us πŸ™‚

  2. WOHOO! Nice work lady πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

