“Good Things Come In Threes”

In any kind of life changing journey, whether or not it involves weight loss, there are always high points, low points, and just plain old boring points. It’s not that things have been bad lately but sometimes you just need a little something to keep you moving along, you know?

My new best friend.

My new best friend.

Now that I’m in the early stages of preparing for this triathlon my workout schedule has become pretty intense, especially for the girl who a year ago was doing zero point zero hours of exercise. Right now my week consists of 4 days of bootcamp, 3 days of running, and now in addition to my swim class I am getting in an extra night at the pool for more practice. By Saturday afternoon- I am beyond exhausted. I never leave the house anymore without my trusty purple backpack as it literally contains all of my “new life” essentials: swim cap, goggles, running gloves, flip flops, extra layers, clementines. And “Rest Days”? They are golden.

I have found that whenever I’ve needed a little “push” in this journey, something has happened to light my spark again. You can call it karma, or you can call me crazy. But either way, it happened this week: in three fantastic ways.

It’s been about 2 months since I finished up my 12 week  blogging adventure through the studio and attempted to continue on my own so it was about time for some measurements. And the numbers showed that not only can I do this on my own, I AM doing it. Inches continue to disappear from my body, and I lost another 3.2% in body fat, which is pretty impressive considering that throughout the 12 week program I lost 3.3%. This leads to the most exciting news to me: I am officially moving from what I like to refer to as the “fat kid” body fat scale to the get this: “athlete” scale. ME… an ATHLETE? Hold the phones people!

Who would of thought this girl could ever be considered an athlete?

Who would of thought this girl could ever be considered an athlete?

On Sunday my athletic self ran my monthly race. After February’s 5K was cancelled due to a snowstorm I have been itching for March. Literally counting down the days. While I was really hoping for a PR, unfortunately my time was 7 seconds slower than my best race (Which at 27:50 still seems like the miracle of a lifetime). And apparently this course was a full 3.1 miles, versus 2.9 in January so when it all comes down to it- yeah, I was faster. But what’s even more important than my time? How much I LOVED every second of it. How happy I was out there: listening to my music, in my groove, doing something that once seemed so unnatural to me. So you know what? I’ll take those seven seconds.

“Good thing” #3 came on the same day. Ironically I had booked a wedding dress appointment for the afternoon. (I mean if you don’t feel skinny after running a 5K when will you, right?) Back in September my mom and I had casually ventured into a bridal shop and it was a DISASTER. The girl pretty much threw me into a fitting room with some dresses and left me to my own defenses. While I had already lost 40 pounds by then, I didn’t fit into any of them and I left barely holding in the tears.

Hello, finish line!

Hello, finish line!

Now down 60 pounds and coming off my runner’s high, I bravely hit the dressing room once again. And somehow, somewhere – the stars aligned for me. I had a fantastic consultant who listened to what I wanted, I had the support of my mom and one of my best friends and I am so excited to say that I found my wedding dress. Obviously I know that my body has gone through a lot of changes over the past couple months but it took standing on a pedestal in a white gown to REALLY see what I have accomplished. As I turned around and stared in the mirror I was in awe. I didn’t recognize the girl staring back at me. Suddenly every push-up, mile, log in My Fitness Pal, ounce of sweat- it was so clear as to just how worth it they are. There really is a method to all this madness. While I can’t post any pictures or give away any details for obvious reasons- I will tell you that I haven’t stopped smiling… or looking at the pictures. It’s just that amazing. As it turns out, good things happen to those who work really hard for it and sometimes… they even come in threes 🙂

About Kathleen

When your legs get tired run with your heart.

Posted on March 13, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. YOU are awesome! Congratulations on all you have accomplished and all that is certainly coming your way! My best to you!

  2. Michele Errico

    I hope to have the same success as the next AHB Rockstar!

Leave a Reply

