Celebrating a new milestone.

strongmindstrongermusclesI can remember the details of each weight loss milestone very well. I have the kind of memory that can tell you what I wore on my first date with my fiancee so this probably doesn’t come as a surprise to anyone who knows me.

I remember the first time I timidly stepped on the scale, petrified that it would be the same number that I had finally faced during my consultation with A Healthy Balance. I remember shrieking that I had in fact, lost a whopping 9 pounds. I remember standing in front of the mirror and thinking “Why yes, I do in fact look 9 pounds skinner!” – if only I knew what was in store for me.

9 pounds down and already feeling on top of the world.

9 pounds down and already feeling on top of the world.

I remember 25. I remember being so determined to reach that benchmark by the end of my 12 week class. And I remember the Saturday morning that I held my breath and crossed my fingers. I remember the goofy grin on my face, so proud of myself that I had actually accomplished something. I remember going for a “run” afterwards (which, let’s be honest- was mostly a lot of walking back then)  and feeling on top of the world. 25 was half way to 50, but that still seemed so far to go.

30 happened right before I went on a two week vacation to California and I was incredibly nervous to leave my eating and workout routine on the other side of the country. But it was there that running and I truly made a connection, and I actually came home weighting 1 pound less than I had been before I left… SUCCESS!

431128_10100889025522612_1175472394_n

Trip to California. Determined to not lose my grip on 30 and push onto 40, despite being on vacation mode.

I remember that 40 happened a lot slower than the others, and that pissed me off. Every pound was like an obnoxious tug-of-war game. But 40 showed me that it’s not always easy, and that there are other ways to measure success than just a number on the scale. 40 taught me patience, self acceptance, and determination.

photo (1)

I can’t remember the last time I bought a dress that I felt “good” in – until now.

50 happened on New Year’s Eve, therefore accomplishing my goal of losing 50 pounds in 2012. If 25 felt good, 50 felt AMAZING. Unstoppable. Bad Ass.  50 left a smile on my face for quite some time.

Celebrating 50 on New Year's Eve.

Celebrating the big 5-0 with some snowboarding and of course, my hot pants.

And then this week- 60 happened. It came as most of the other milestones did: quietly, a sudden “Oh hey look at that!” But 60 feels very different from the rest.

60 feels so skinny. 60 feels so healthy.

60 feels so close to a body that I would be very content with living in for the rest of my life.

You can see 60 in my legs that can now run several miles and in my arms that have definition.

60 is a body that swims and runs, that pushes itself and that does things that seem outrageous.

60 makes me happy to get dressed in the morning, and it doesn’t make me anxious to go clothes shopping. It makes me smile when I pass a mirror and think “I did that.”

60 makes me confident, it makes me happy, it makes me feel more alive than I’ve ever felt. And it gives me the strength to keep on going because honestly- why stop at 60?

1361883146.5789-23598-r-609x500

About Kathleen

When your legs get tired run with your heart.

Posted on February 27, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 18 Comments.

  1. Damn..it feels good to be a gangsta. You look amazing. Congrats!

  2. So great – congratulations! As someone with a horrible memory, I’m a little jealous that you have such distinct memories of each step along the way! 🙂

  3. Had a read of your blog and i have to say that i am very impressed.
    Well done…

  4. Amazing and very inspirational! One foot in front of the other…

  5. Kathleen, Just caught up again with your blog. I’ll tell you, again, your writing is both enjoyable and inspirational! Hey, and Valentine’s Day IS one day, don’t feel guilty about it. A couple of bites didn’t hurt, and it made Andy happy that you accepted his gift. You look absolutely amazing – not for losing the weight – just amazing. You have a great shape, and you were hiding it! Well, “Hello everyone here I am!!”
    Love and congrats, xo

  6. You look amazing, congrats on your success!

  7. Well done!
    I love your slogan at the top of your post!

  8. I know we haven’t seen each other in a while but you are such an inspiration! Keep up the work and I love your whole outlook on the loss…the attitude of it! ❤ I hope I can find that this year!

  9. Way to go, Kathleen! What huge milestones you’ve accomplished in your life so far. Imagine what’s still to come! Just amazing! Congrats and wishing you much continued success.

  10. I LOVE this post! I’m closing in on 40 pounds myself (since starting WW in August) and sometimes it’s hard to appreciate the small changes from week to week – taking time to remember these milestones serves as good motivation for the future! Thanks for sharing your journey!

  1. Pingback: “Good Things Come In Threes” | The Half Ass Bad Ass

Leave a Reply

