Running in a winter wonderland?

For anyone who DOESN’T live in the New England area (or resides under a rock), we kind of got some snow this weekend. And by kind of, I mean – we got absolutely buried. For all the years that I’ve had to listen to people talk about “The Blizzard of ’78” I can now say that I survived the epic “Nemo”. Yipee.

photo (1)

Running on the beach with a negative wind chill? Something I don’t really need to do again, thanks.

For the most part, my first winter of “being a runner” in New England has been pretty uneventful. A few slushy days, an inch of snow here or there, and that one dreadful night where I decided to run in negative degree weather with a DIY neck warmer. So needless to say that when the rumors of FEET of snow began- I began to freak out.

As the first snowflakes fell I threw on my running gear and headed out to the streets in fear that I may never see pavement again (Also because if you’ve ever run in the snow before, you know it’s one of the coolest feelings).

Is it spring yet?

Is it spring yet?

Unfortunately for once, the weathermen were straight on. My weekend was spent shoveling my car out from under 30 inches of snow and spending almost 30 hours without power.  In a desperate attempt to save my fridge of healthy food, my greek yogurts became frozen yogurt on the back porch, Saturday’s bootcamp  was cancelled and I didn’t get a run in ALL weekend. By Sunday afternoon I was literally twitching from lack of exercise- I can’t remember the last time I went two days in a row without some kind of workout. I’ve developed such a routine that I paralyze with fear at the thought of it going out of whack. There’s still this small part of my brain that thinks that one missed workout will have a snowball effect, and that I’ll be back where I started a year ago. I know it sounds pathetic, but I have to remind myself that a few days off isn’t going to spiral into a downfall, or make me gain 5 pounds back.

Deep down I know all this because honestly, I would miss it too much. I keep waiting for the day that “this all” becomes a chore, but at this point- I’m pretty sure that’s never going to happen. Last week I went snowboarding, swimming AND running. Never in my life have I been such an active person and honestly, I’ve never been happier. I feel like there’s this amazing world that I’ve been missing out on for so long, and now I want to do everything possible to catch up. Every week seems to bring a new experience or something different to try and for once in my life I’m not letting the “what ifs” hold me back- I’m just taking a deep breath and doing it. 🙂

About Kathleen

When your legs get tired run with your heart.

Posted on February 13, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Enjoying your blog! Brr, makes me cold just thinking about it. I hope you’re able to get you race in this weekend with the weather you’ve had. Good luck!

    • Haha thanks- I am itching for warm weather runs! This weekend looks like it should be okay for us- just pretty cold but hey, maybe that will make me run faster? 😉

  2. Your last paragraph is absolutely perfect!! I think all us fitness and healthy living bloggers can completely relate. I’ve been going for just over a year straight with my new, awesome active lifestyle and I don’t know how I ever lived without it! I’ve also never been happier 🙂 You took the words right out of my fingers 😉

Leave a Reply

